Research Committee Members 2024

The Research Committee is a volunteer group of a minimum eight members who are managed by the Research Chair, Mr. Tim Bauer, with guidance from the SMRI Vice President (Research Chair) Mr. Yvan Charnavel, and the SMRI Secretary Treasurer (Tech Class Chair) Dr. Kurt Looff. The committee role consists of selecting research subjects, recommending research projects, as well as managing, monitoring progress, and adjusting as necessary each research project plans, plus editing drafts and approving each research report as complete.

The SMRI Research Committee is normally comprised of an equal number of members from North America and  from outside North America. The Executive Committee strives to maintain a balance of expertise in the Research Committee membership by selecting committee members from solution mining companies, energy storage companies, service companies, researchers, and consultants. Each committee member serves a term of four years and as membership terms expire, new committee members are selected from submitted applications. Membership on the Research Committee has proven very competitive in recent years, with a list of highly qualified applicants, while we always wish to add expertise to the available list. After serving on this committee, members often apply and are selected for Executive Committee service, as they know the industry, learn the SMRI procedures, and demonstrate their effectiveness during their four year term.

Research Committee membership is on a volunteer basis and requires a significant commitment of time and resources, so they are encouraged to obtain support from their employer before applying. If during the course of a term, an committee member’s employer or the member determines that the commitment cannot be continued, the committee member is encouraged to resign. If this situation arises, the SMRI Executive Committee will appoint a new committee member to complete the term of the committee member who resigned.

Research Committee applications not selected in a given year are considered active in following years, unless applicant withdraws.  SMRI maintains a list of highly qualified applicants and try to keep a balance of areas of expertise, operators - service providers, and countries/regions. Selection often takes 2 or 3 years even for best qualified applicants in their specific field.  Research Committee applications must be submitted to Research Coordinator Tim Bauer ([email protected]) and Executive Director John Nadeau ([email protected]) by 1 March to be considered for the following year. For those interested in applying for a Future Research Committee position, more details on the role expectations can be found HERE.


2024 Research Coordinator

Mr. Tim Bauer
2227 Tangle Lake Dr Kingwood, TX 77339 United States

Phone: +1 713-653-5872

2024 Research Committee Chair

Mr. Yvan Charnavel

Immeuble Djinn, 12 rue Raoul Nordling, CS 70001 92274 Bois Colombes, Cedex, France
Phone: +33 1 46 52 32 75

2024 Technical Class Chair

Dr. Kurt Looff
Texas Brine Company, LLC

4800 Sam Felipe Houston, TX 77056

Phone: +1 (713) 877-2724

Mr. Arnaud Réveillère
2 rue des Martinets CS 700030
Rueil Malmaison 92500, France
Phone +1 33 1 47 08 73 32
(Through 2024)

Dr. Joel Warneke
Cavern Solutions, Inc.
2515 Texas Ave Houston, TX 77003
Phone +1 281 384-4838
(Through 2024)

Mr. Patrick Roordink
Nederlandse Gasunie N.V..
Concourslaan17 Groningen 9700MA Netherlands
Phone + +31 611005731
(Through 2025)

Mr. Gregg Eichorn
1849 Road E Emporia, KS 66801 United States
Phone +1 620 960-2207
(Through 2025)

Marinus Den Hartogh
Nobian, The Netherlands
Boortorenweg 27 Hengelo
7554 RS Netherlands
Phone +316 1102 8967
(Through 2026)

Mr. Charles Chabannes
United Brine Services, USA

4800 San Felipe Houston, TX 77056 United States
Phone +1 717 877-2735
(Through 2026)

Sophie Minas
16200 Park Row Dr #200, Houston, TX 770084 United States
Phone +1 281 552-2708
(Through 2026)


Christopher McMichael
Atkins, UK
8 Mallard Way Strathclyde Business Park Bellshill ML4 3BF United Kingdom
Phone 01412202360
(Through 2026)

Hippolyte Djizanne
Rue Jacques Taffanel, 
Verneuil-en-Halatte 60550,  France
+33 0 4455-6624
(Through 2027)


Chadwick Falkenstein
Leaf River Energy Center LLC
2500 City West Blvd Houston, TX 77042
+1 281 605 2654
(Through 2027)

For contact information of the 2024 RESEARCH COMMITTEE people listed above, CLICK HERE